7th Australian Algebra Conference

Website for the 7th Australian Algebra Conference


The main aim of the annual Australian Algebra Conference is to foster communication between algebraists in Australia. We interpret algebra quite broadly, including areas such as topological algebra, algebraic logic, graph theory and coding theory. The conference is run by the Australian Algebra Group, which is a special interest group of the Australian Mathematical Society.

The conference has a proud tradition of encouraging talks by students: typically about one third of the talks are presented by students. The conference aims to provide graduate students in algebra with the opportunity to give their first public presentation in a relaxed and supportive environment. Each conference, the most outstanding student talk is awarded the Gordon Preston Prize.

Attention: We have learned that some unsolicited travel/service e-mails have been sent out to conference attendees. These e-mails have nothing to do with the conference, and we ask you to treat these with caution.

Jump to

Schedule, Transport and Information Booklet
Invited speakers
Local Information
Registered Participants

Conference photo

Schedule, Transport and Information Booklet

Please click here to download the conference information booklet, which includes the abstracts and the schedule.

The schedule itself is also shown below, and can be downloaded separately here.

If you would like to try to organise a carpool to the airport with other participants, please see this spreadsheet.

Invited speakers

Eamonn O’Brien, University of Auckland, New Zealand. Colva Roney-Dougal, University of St. Andrews, UK. Geertrui Van de Voorde, University of Canterbury, New Zealand.


Registration is now closed!

Please see below for the schedule of conference registration fees.

Category Fee
Students $0
Members of the Australian Algebra Group (AAG) $0
Members of AustMS but not AAG $30
Non-members $40

Registration fees should be paid via bank transfer - more details will be emailed to you once you register.

The registration fee will cover morning and afternoon tea, as well as a barbecue lunch on one of the days of the conference.

We will also have an individually funded conference dinner at the Notting Hill Hotel on Thursday 23rd November.

There is limited travel support available for students. If you would like to apply for this support, please email Santiago Barrera Acevedo with a letter of support from your supervisor and an approximate budget of your expenses.

The allocation of funding will be communicated to applicants before registration closes.


Travel support applications due: 29th September 2023

Registration closes: 3rd November 2023

Abstract deadline: 3rd November 2023


Please note: All talk slots are now filled. If you would like to join the waiting list for talk slots, or if you have any questions or concerns, please email Santiago Barrera Acevedo.

Gordon Preston Prize

The Gordon Preston Prize is awarded for the best presentation at the AAC given by a current student based at an Australian or overseas university. The presentations will be judged by a panel appointed by the executive committee. The winner of the prize will receive $300. The Rules for the Gordon Preston Prize are available on the website of the Australian Algebra Group.

Local Information

The conference will be held at the Clayton campus of Monash University in Melbourne.

All talks will be held in Lecture Theatre South 1 (43 Rainforest Walk), close to the bus loop: please see the Clayton Campus Map for details (a static version of the map is available here).


The Clayton campus is located about 25km south-east of the Melbourne CBD.

Here are some suggestions for accommodation close to Monash Clayton campus:

If choosing to stay in the city instead, participants can reach the campus fairly easily by taking the Pakenham/Cranbourne train to Huntingdale, and then taking the 601 shuttle bus. This journey takes around 30-45min and both legs run regularly.

bus route

Registered Participants

Name Affiliation
Azeef Muhammed Parayil Ajmal Western Sydney University
Tumadhir F Alsulami La Trobe University
Brice Arrigo Monash University
Guillermo Badia University of Queensland
Santiago Barrera Acevedo Monash University
Abdul Basit Monash University
Anton Baykalov The University of Western Australia
James Carr University of Queensland
Lei Chen The University of Western Australia
Marcus Chijoff The University of Newcastle
Marston Conder University of Auckland
Matthew Conder The University of Auckland
Brian Davey La Trobe University
Nicola Di Vittorio Macquarie University
Heiko Dietrich Monash University
Zhaochen Ding The University of Auckland
Norman Do Monash University
James East Western Sydney University
Murray Elder University of Technology Sydney
Victor Fagundes Monash University
Graham Farr Monash University
Saul Freedman The University of Western Australia
Matthias Fresacher Western Sydney University
Meizheng (Steven) Fu University of Auckland
Soichiro Fujii Macquarie University
Sean Gardiner UNSW
Barry Gardner University of Tasmania
Stephen Glasby The University of Western Australia
Daniel Glasson RMIT
Joe Gurr UNSW
Eli Hazel Macquarie University
Yusuf Hafidh The University of Melbourne
Joshua Howie Monash University
Deborah Jackson La Trobe University
Marcel Jackson La Trobe University
David Jefferies Monash University
Seethalakshmi Kayanattath Australian National University
Melissa Lee Monash University
Yuxuan Li The University of Melbourne
Jean-Simon Pacaud Lemay Macquarie University
Ari Markowitz University of Auckland
Peter McNamara University of Melbourne
Đorđe Mitrović University of Auckland
Luke Morgan The University of Western Australia
Brian Ng Monash University
Dion Nikolic UNSW Canberra
Eamonn O'Brien University of Auckland
Padraig Ó Catháin Dublin City University
Adam Piggott Australian National University
Tomasz Popiel Monash University
John Power Macquarie University
Tabish Ali Rather Swinburne University of Technology
Lawrence Reeves The University of Melbourne
Colva Roney-Dougal University of St. Andrews
Jackson Ryder UNSW
Jeroen Schillewaert University of Auckland
Jerry Shen University of Technology Sydney
Don Taylor University of Sydney
Vandit Trivedi Australian National University
Geertrui Van de Voorde University of Canterbury
Gabriel Verret University of Auckland
Ian Wanless Monash University
Michael Wynne Monash University
Darius Young University of Auckland
Joshua Zhishuo The University of Melbourne